Most of the Arctic, like most of the world, is commonly owned. With ownership comes the obligation to manage our resources for the benefit of the total. To do that, we must understand the reality, the richness, and the responsibility of the North.

– Governor Walter J. Hickel, Founder

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Institute of the North is governed by a highly committed Board of Directors. In addition to fiscal and strategic oversight, board members represent and demonstrate a diversity of opinion in articulating a vision for Alaska and the North that bridges and balances development, conservation and indigenous perspectives.

Executive Committee

Mike Sfraga, Chair

Jon Isaacs, Vice Chair/Treasurer

Teresa Imm, Secretary 

Drue Pearce, Past Chair


Admiral Tom Barrett

Matt Ganley

Randall Hagenstein

Jack Hickel

Mayor Reggie Joule

Bradford Keithley

Ira Perman

Brit Szymoniak

Hans Neidig

Shirley Marquardt


Walter J. Hickel

Your individual donation ensures the success of Institute programs and helps us meet our mission and intended outcomes.

Registration Options

Payment Details
Internet Payments